Daddy Said

you will write

he whispered firmly

through the inky black of

night where crickets sang

and soldiers who lay dead

long dead nodded yes

she will write

he strummed his guitar and soothed the flutter thump thump

the smell of honeysuckle drifting on the breeze

underneath Orions belt

red clay in the moon light

red clay over all those dead boys

i’m scared Daddy

of what?

of dyin’

oh honey babe

don’t you know?

you’ve been dyin’ since the day you were born

huck finn drops in to smoke a pipe

and the frogs sing a love song

i write

3 thoughts on “Daddy Said

    • Christy, I am so glad! I’ve been following your blog for a long time. You have inspired me PLENTY! I had tried to blog before, but this is the first time I’m having success. Because I’m using my own voice and doing my own thing isntead of trying to imitate what others are doing. I really hope you come back again in future! 🙂

  1. Wow – your poems amaze me – so fresh and alive and unexpected. The wonderful simplicity of your observations that carry so much meaning – the multiplication of feeling I find here is exhilarating – no wonder people fall in love with poets! Billy

Leave a Reply

