Patina

which of us is perfect?

you came to me with your head hanging down

“I’m broken.  See what I have done?”

you held out your hand

and I saw the scars

old burns tight and knobby

the tick tick tick of stitches

one after the other

but you were speaking of bigger sins

 

you were sure

I would fling you away

but I have secrets too

when I look you over

I like what I see

your broken bits

fit just so

with mine

 

“I am broken, too.  See my shame?”

I get down on my knees

so I can look up

into your eyes

“We can be broken together.”

 

You look shinier already

 

 

Leave a Reply

