Companions

it comes around again

that deep and foggy ache

a tug that starts

at the top of my head

and ends in the knot in my belly

sadness bubbles up

from my throat

and drips from the corner of my mouth

no smile here

no laughter here

I have not forgotten that life and death

go hand in hand

sitting in the dark

I dwell within it

it tolerates me

it carries me along

I am not brave enough to call it friend

One thought on “Companions

  1. Been awhile since I have visited here, but often think about you and wonder how you are faring. Hope all is happy and stable, and that this poem and what it speaks of is off-set by some of thr good stuff as well. I love your poetry Courtney – you write with great feeling and clarity – keep going! X Billy

Leave a Reply

