Spring Beauties

I go back to those days

when you were the small one

when “the creek” fed through our hearts

and Spring Beauties blossomed

just for us

red clay feet and knotted hair

chestnut and gold

a tangle of imagination

long olden days

long golden days

how did they get away?

you loved me then

without knowing my shame

you had baby eyes

you belonged to me

and I was yours, too

now I would follow you anywhere

but your baby eyes fell out

and you flew away to California

“the creek” still runs

my heart burnt up

my heart burnt up and smoked the oaks

ashes kiss the May Apples

Spring Beauties

will always bloom

just for us

Leave a Reply

